Book Bite: We Were Liars

Title: We Were Liars

Author: E. Lockhart

Year published: 2014

Why I read it: A friend recommended it.

Blurb: We are the Liars. We are beautiful, privileged and live a life of carefree luxury. We are cracked and broken. A story of love and romance. A tale of tragedy. Which are lies? Which is truth?

Rating: Would definitely re-read.

Comments: 

I should start by saying that I did not take notes after reading this book, so these are merely immediate thoughts about the things that I remember most about the story.

We Were Liars left me with the feeling that my enjoyment of reading it stemmed from the reading experience itself rather than the story. I do like the story and the clever reveal at the end, but more than anything I appreciated how the story was told. The prose is lyrical and really compelling throughout the novel.

– The reveal at the end was not as much shocking as it was a moment of every puzzle piece fitting together to create a picture I’d only vaguely been able to see before then. It was like finally seeing an image in proper lighting after studying it in the dark for a long time, allowing me to finally understand everything I had read. I don’t like when the merit of the story depends on one big reveal, so this is more to my tastes. I liked how the ending changed the way I interpreted much of what had happened previously in the story, and it makes me very excited to re-read the book sometime in the future.

– The characters were in large part very unlikeable, but in ways that were logical within the story. I enjoy stories with real people, even when real is synonymous with awful.

Leave a Reply

