Book Bite: Anna and the French Kiss

A brief introduction because this is the first ‘book bites’ post I’m posting: I used to publish these on a separate tumblr blog as a way to keep track and better remember what I like and dislike about all the books I read. Since then I have come to feel that it’s unnecessary to keep those post on a separate blog, and will now be posting them on here. Unlike my full reviews, these posts will be short and easy to both read and write.

Title: Anna and the French Kiss

Author: Stephanie Perkins

Year published: 2010

Why I read it: A podcast I listen to kept talking about it.

Blurb: Anna is less than thrilled to be shipped off to boarding school in Paris, leaving a fledgling romance behind – until she meets Etienne St Clair. Smart, charming, beautiful, Etienne has it all… including a girlfriend. But in the City of Light, wishes have a way of coming true. Will a year of romantic near-misses end with a longed-for French kiss? 

Rating: Would not re-read.

Comments:

– The setting in Paris and the boarding school aspect was enjoyable, and I liked the characters throughout most of the book.

– The story was really simple, and it was an easy and quick read. I think I finished it in a day. It’s probably a good book to read on the beach.

– I found the conflict towards the end incredibly frustrating. It felt like it was conflict for conflict’s sake, which is one of my least favourite things in literature. It also had a touch of the second act break up trope which is also not something I love.

It’s infinitely better than other similar books I’ve read, but nothing I would ever want to read again.

 

Leave a Reply

