Musical Nostalgia: My Moody Teen Playlist

Recently I’ve been looking back at and reminiscing about my past musical choices. This has been particularly fun because as my sister and I get all nostalgic about it, my “new” London friends have not even heard about half the artists and bands I play for them. Since I’m finally done with uni for the summer I thought I would take the time to try to remember some of the stuff I used to listen to back then. I think I’ve already mentioned that my computer crashed a few years back, taking with it my entire iTunes library, so some of it is probably gone and forgotten about forever, but a few left a lasting memory.

First off: Good Charlotte. This was the best thing in the world when I was around 15-16 or thereabouts. I remember thinking I was so cool for listening to ‘hard rock’ (so naive) made by guys wearing black clothes and eyeliner. Yeah. Moving swiftly along from that embarrassment, “Predictable” was constantly on repeat on my mp3 player (this was before Apple was an everyday item in Norway, which feels like ages ago). My sister also reminded me I used to love “I Just Wanna Live”, or as she calls it, “the song with the fruit in the music video”. No joke, I searched for it on YouTube yesterday using the phrase “Good Charlotte fruit video”. It showed up, so whatever works I guess.

I think it was around the same time that I got really obsessed with The Killers. This was mostly a result of my massive obsession with The OC at the time. Honestly, a lot of my choices in music stem from soundtracks. The OC had an excellent soundtrack that introduced me to a lot of music I still listen to on a regular basis today. I’m not sure why The Killers have mostly disappeared off my radar, because I used to love songs like “Somebody Told Me” and “Mr Brightside”, and still do whenever they come on the radio or a random playlist.

Keeping with this theme of using television as a gateway to music, I had a phase in high school when I was very into Jackass (don’t ask). Through that I got introduced to artists such as The Sounds, HIM and Vains of Jenna. The Sounds I listened to quite a bit, while Vains of Jenna was pretty much limited to just their song “Enemy in Me” which I used to blast in my earphones on the bus ride to and back from school. HIM was a band I was already familiar with but only really started listening to after being reintroduced to them on the show. I haven’t listened to any of their music in a while now, but I can still really enjoy songs such as “Rip Out the Wings of a Butterfly” and “Bleed Well”.

In my gap year after high school I spent in a non-academic school where we spent most of the time studying European culture and history and travelling around the continent. While there I was introduced to Tenacious D. I don’t even know what to say about it. It’s not something I would seek out myself, but when a bunch of your friends sit around singing the songs on nights out it just becomes a thing. Up until yesterday I had not thought about it for years, but when I put on “Tribute” I could sing along to most of the lyrics without problem.

Muse is probably the band I am most surprised to have lost interest in over time. Up until recently I have had a tendency to obsess about music, then move on very quickly once something new pops up. Muse was probably the first band I really stuck with for a long time. I went to see them back in 2009 when they did their Uprising tour, and it was fantastic. I still love some of their songs to death, but their new stuff since then has not appealed to me as much. Among my (many) favourite songs are “Map of the Problematique”, “City of Delusion”, “Plug in Baby” and “Unnatural Selection”. Also, listening to them play “Knights of Cydonia” live in concert is one of the best moments of live music I’ve experienced.

Honorable mentions:

Spice Girls, Aqua, Vengaboys, Westlife, Backstreet Boys, and S Club 7, all of which were pre-teen obsessions.

Placebo, Aqualung, The Perishers, Jack’s Mannequin, Blink 182, Busted, Three Days Grace, My Chemical Romance, The Darkness, and Foo Fighters.

One Comment Add yours

  1. ghostandphantoms says:

    This is such an interesting read! Instead of Good Charlotte, it was Sum41 for me. But yep, I listened to the rest of the bands on your list too. I feel really nostalgic now! I’m kinda tempted to make my own teenager playlist too, haha.

Leave a Reply

