Fall Out Boy

This post is about Fall Out Boy. It’s the same old story with this band: I started listening, got obsessed, my computer crashed and the songs disappeared. I stopped listening, and then rediscovered them when they reunited. A fun-fact about my relationship with this band is that I found out about them through One Tree Hill, a show I once loved but now can’t stand. In the interest of honesty, I don’t know a whole lot about the background and dynamic of this band, and this might show throughout the post. The extent of my knowledge (aside from their time on One Tree Hill) is that they took a break in 2009 due to, amongst other things, excessive media attention and lack of creative ideas, and then recently reunited to make Save Rock and Roll. I will predominately be writing about Save Rock and Roll in this post, but I urge everyone who hasn’t already to go back and listen to the older albums as well. They’re what got me to listen in the first place, and definitely worth checking out.

So, about Save Rock and Roll. I think I said in my post about Arctic Monkeys that ‘AM’ is one of a small selection of albums where there are no tracks I would skip because everything is good. Fall Out Boy’s ‘Save Rock and Roll’ also makes that selection, probably even more so than ‘AM’. I think the only track I don’t love on that album is the title track, “Save Rock And Roll” that they did with Elton John, mostly because that collaboration is hard to wrap my head around.

The song that made me fall back in love with the band is “Young Volcanoes”. It’s a really fun song to listen to, which is such a clichéd and boring thing to say, but the truth nonetheless. This album as a whole is lyrically excellent. “Young Volcanoes” doesn’t have the lyrics I love the most, but it has some I really enjoy. “We are wild, Americana, exotica, Do you wanna feel a little beautiful baby?” is a lot of fun to sing along to when it comes on, and I find “We will teach you how to make boys next door, Out of assholes” very funny.

The second song I fell in love with, and the song that currently is my favourite off the album, is “Just One Yesterday”. I love, love, love this song. First of all, I first heard about Foxes a couple of years ago when she released her song “Youth” (which I wrote about on this blog), and then I sort of forgot to keep track of anything else she did. It surprised me when she popped up on this track, but she sounds nice next to Patrick Stump. Secondly, I love the lyrics of this song. The whole thing is worth reading, but my favourite bit is this part:

Letting people down is my thing, baby
Find yourself a new gig
This town ain’t big enough for two of us
I don’t have the right name
Or the right looks
But I have twice the heart

The last song I’ll mention specifically is “Rat A Tat”, which features Courtney Love. This actually isn’t one of my favourite songs, but it has pieces of writing I just really love for reasons I can’t put my finger on. The song starts out like this:

Are you ready for another bad poem?
One more off-key anthem
Let your teeth sink in
Remember me as I was not as I am

Then there’s this bit: “I’m about to make the sweat roll backwards, And your heart beat in reverse” and “I’m the lonelier version of you, I just don’t know where it went wrong”. I also love how the song ends with the same line it starts with, saying “Are you ready for another bad poem?” over again.

This has been very incoherent and weird, I think. This is one of those albums that work even better when listened to as a whole. To me it feels as if it’s telling a story, with lyrics in different songs referring back to specific lyrics or ideas that have been brought up earlier on the album. I love good writing, and I appreciate when artists take time to do these things. The band has also released a series of music videos for all their songs, telling a cohesive story using the tracks. I haven’t watched them all, mostly because they contain some gore and violence that doesn’t appeal to me, but I think it’s a cool idea.

One Comment Add yours

  1. Sam says:

    I’ve been a fan of theirs since ‘From Under the Cork Tree’ but I didn’t know they had a new CD out! I’ll have to download it this afternoon. Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

