The Vampire Diaries Review: Dangerous Liaisons

As you may or may not have noticed I haven’t written about The Vampire Diaries in a couple of weeks. The reason for this is that while I enjoyed the episodes, they were nothing spectacular. The most interesting things to come out of them were the return of the original family and a lot of murders of council members, a storyline I currently don’t find interesting. In ‘Dangerous Liaisons’ that all changed and the things I didn’t even realise until now had bothered me, were resolved.

The most significant development in this episode concerned the original family and their future plans. I was extremely disappointed by the scene last week when Esther told Klaus she had forgiven him. It felt like it was there as a device for the writers to not have to deal with finding a loophole to keep Klaus on the show. After learning her true intentions in this episode, that she and Finn are plotting to bind the siblings together and sacrifice Finn in order to kill them all, was a nice twist. I’m intrigued to find out which side Esther is really on, and I enjoy that her only problem with the plan is Elijah’s morality.

Speaking off, Elijah is by far my favourite original. I know people are completely smitten with Klaus and his courtship of Caroline, but personally I much prefer Elijah and his morals. I felt so sorry for him when Elena watched him take a sip of the champagne. While I enjoy several of the other siblings as well, he is the only one I could see cross completely over to the good side.

I was surprised to find that I enjoyed Klaus’ courtship of Caroline. I would not have liked it if Caroline had been flattered from the beginning, not after all he’s done to her. However, having her attend the party to look out for Matt, having her acknowledge what he had done to Tyler as well as calling Tyler to talk to him, and having her call Klaus out on who he really is made me respect the choice. Klaus seems to be genuine in his feelings towards her, and I think I would latch onto this romance faster if they hadn’t taken Klaus from one extreme to the other. As much as you could say Damon has taken the same emotional road, his had the added benefit of time and there were always traces of humanity in him. It’s not until this season that Klaus has started to show anything like that and although I found the drawing very sweet and genuine, I’m not sure it’s enough.

My last point concerning this episode is the love triangle between Damon, Elena and Stefan. I realise that it’s futile to want this to go away; it’s at the core of the show after all. I have had some trouble with how they chose to move the forward after the kiss over the past few episodes. I have enjoyed that both Damon and Stefan are being open with each other about their feelings for Elena. I also think it makes a lot of sense for Elena to be unsure. What bothers me is that she still hasn’t had a real conversation with Damon about it yet.

In this episode we see both Elena and Stefan criticise Damon for being too emotionally invested in Elena to let her make her own decisions. There is something to be said for Stefan letting Elena make her own decisions, but considering the dangers they’ve been through I can’t blame Damon for wanting to protect her. I was angry at Elena for chastising Damon for caring and letting his emotions guide him. This is after all what she has wanted him to do over the past seasons. When the confrontation about Elena’s choice to knock Damon out finally happened, and Damon for the first time (at least as far as Elena can remember) admitted he loves her, it broke my heart to hear Elena reply that that was the problem.

As for Stefan’s part in all of this, his distaste for Damon’s emotions made a tad more sense. While it’s ridiculous for him to scold Damon for something he has been advocating for the longest time, at least he can fall back on having lost his humanity. But in a way that bothers me too. I feel like the writers are trying to have their cake and eat it too with this humanity business. It’s as if he lacks it whenever he has to do something bad, but the moment he is supposed to appear sympathetic to the viewers they write in something about it resurfacing. Maybe I just don’t understand the whole business of humanity on this show. Either way, it bothered me to see him once again being ambiguous about how he feels about Elena. It’s time for him to either leave her alone or admit that he still has feelings for her so she can make a choice.

Stray observations and dialogue:

– How come every teen in Mystic Falls knows ballroom dancing on short notice? Then again, there’s one of these events every week so perhaps it makes sense when you think about it.

– I love Elijah’s new hair, but can someone explain to me how these people change hair styles all the time. Aren’t they supposed to be dead? Not to mention, it’s uncanny how Elijah happened to come out of his coffin with a tan.

– Is it just me or is it starting to get old how Stefan and Damon call each other brother all the time? I can only speak for myself, but I never address my sister as ‘sister’.

– I liked that they finally found a way to make Matt relevant. And that they actually addressed Tyler’s absence.

– Elena’s dress was amazing!

 

 

Leave a Reply

