The Hunger Games Second Trailer Reaction

A few days ago a new trailer for the Hunger Games was released online, and in it we got to see a little more of what to expect come March 23. We got to see Katniss giving Prim the Mockingjay pin, Cinna giving Katniss it back before she enters the games, clips from the interviews and an extended look at President Snow.

My immediate reaction to this trailer was relief that they didn’t put in a lot of footage of the games themselves. Much of why I loved the last trailer was its main focus on the events preceding the actual games. I was afraid that the new trailer would go against that and show a lot more, something that has become common in movie previews. As it where, the only clips we got from inside the arena were of Katniss running from the fire, which we have already seen in the first teaser released last year.

What struck me as odd at first was how little Peeta there was compared to Gale. It seems mind-boggling to me to present the movie as being more about Katniss and Gale than Katniss and Peeta. However, in hindsight I can see that by keeping Peeta in the background they will be able to keep his allegiances during the start of the movie ambiguous. As a reader of the books I tend to forget that there are people coming into this movie not knowing how it ends, and for those people scenes such as the interviews will be much more enjoyable if they don’t know the extent of Peeta’s character motivations. I would have liked a few more scenes with him in the trailers, but I will acknowledge that this might be for the best. What I can’t wrap my head around is how much Gale appears in there.

I really liked the look of the interviews, and appreciated that there weren’t a lot of them in the trailer. I could see a scenario where they would use an extended cut of Katniss sitting on stage during the interviews as the start of the trailer, and I love that they didn’t. Stanley Tucci looks like he will be amazing in this movie, and Jennifer Lawrence delivers her lines perfectly. As for Peeta and Ceasar’s conversation, I’m glad that it remained without audio. I would have been pissed off if they had added some of the pivotal dialogue in that scene in the trailer.

Another thing I enjoyed about this trailer was the scene between Cinna and Katniss. I never was a huge a fan of Cinna and I was unsure about Lenny Kravitz. All of that doubt was whisked away in that little scene between the two of them, and I’m looking forward to seeing more of those two characters interacting. Additionally I think the fact that the scene showed that the pin is a secret was a nice touch. It will let the audience know early on in the series that the Mockingjay is significant. I also enjoyed that Katniss is the one to give Prim the pin, because it establishes the sisterly bond they have, something which is ultimately more important for the story in the long run than Madge is.

 

Leave a Reply

