Sherlock: The Reichenbach Fall

After watching ‘A Scandal In Belgravia’ I was sure none of the other two episodes would be able to top it. I was completely wrong. Despite knowing how the book ends, I found this to be utterly compelling television that had me on the edge of my seat the entire time. I have to give all the praise in the world to Benedict Cumberbatch and Martin Freeman, as well as Andrew Scott. All of them did such excellent jobs acting. Let’s get into specifics:

  • The opening scene was fantastic. The visual of seeing Moriarty’s madness unfold as he is listening to classical music and causing break-ins to the Bank of England, a prison and the Crown Jewels were great. I loved how he took his time with his process, and let them find him sitting in the chair covered in jewels.
  • Every scene between Sherlock and Moriarty was gold. They work really well off each other, and I think that’s what elevated the episode to this level of greatness.
  • Moriarty pulled his strings perfectly throughout the episode, and played on Sherlock’s pride in order to become ‘Mr. Sex’, manipulating by playing to Sherlock’s need to know everything. Until the very end he has some ulterior motive that he won’t share, and the intricate web he spins to destroy Sherlock was so well crafted.
  • I loved the twist of Moriarty manipulating the reporter that Sherlock offended to believe he was an actor hired by Sherlock. I can’t blame anyone for believing him after such a thorough job to fool everyone, and it made the reveal that John didn’t get fooled so much better.
  • I was shocked to find out Mycroft revealed all that information to Moriarty. I feel like he should have had more sense than to offer an insane man information on the man he is obsessed with, who also happens to be Mycroft’s brother. But it made for some great plot development, so I can’t be too mad at him.
  • Molly was finally treated well in this episode; her scenes were some of the more emotional. I liked that she was able to see how sad Sherlock was, and even more how he let her call him out on it. When he showed up to talk to her towards the end of the episode I was feeling so sad, but at the same time so happy on her behalf when he said she mattered.
  • The jump was one of the most emotional parts of the episode. I love how Sherlock cares so much about these few people in his life that he is willing to die for them (or at least fake his death for them). As he was saying goodbye to John and telling him he was a fraud, I was in a really emotional state. I can’t believe how he survived that fall, and since the camera followed him all the way down I don’t see how there could have been a trick there. At this point I have no clue how Sherlock did it.

 

Leave a Reply

