Sherlock: A Scandal in Belgravia

Last Sunday the last episode in Sherlock’s series 2 aired, and it raised plenty of questions that I can’t wait to have answered. I initially intended to write one big review of the series as a whole, but when I sat down to make some notes I realised that I have quite a lot of comments about the excellent three-part instalment that was their second series. In this post I will go through what I loved about ‘A Scandal in Belgravia’, and later I will follow with ‘The Hounds of Baskerville’ and ‘The Reichenbach Fall’.

  • First of all, this version of Irene Adler was great! I didn’t mind that she ended up having feelings for Sherlock, but I understand why some people found that to be a problematic aspect of how she was written. The password phrase ‘I am Sher-locked’ was incredibly stupid, but it did take Sherlock a lot of time to actually get it, which was kind of nice.
  • I loved the entire sequence at Buckingham Palace. The fact that Sherlock decided to show up dressed only in a sheet, as well as all the jokes about Mycroft. The scene where Sherlock threatens to walk off without the sheet was hilarious, as was the reveal that he had stolen an ashtray when they got back to their apartment.
  • I liked how they have kept, and still are keeping, Sherlock’s sexuality fairly ambiguous. It made the entire episode a lot more fun as we see John trying to understand what is going on in Sherlock’s head. Personally I think he was much more attracted to the mystery and wit of Irene Adler than anything else. Still, it was great to see them together.
  • I loved how angry Sherlock got when someone tried to hurt Mrs. Hudson, and how he trusts her so much that he left Irene’s phone with her.
  • While Moriarty was hardly in this episode, I loved the little part he played. I think he is a great character, and I loved that the writers managed to make me forget that he was in cahoots with Irene all the way until it was revealed at the end.
  • The entire section when Sherlock is analysing Molly’s crush on some guy only to realize it’s him as he reads the note on the Christmas present was fantastic. So rude, but so funny. As was his comments about John’s girlfriends.

 

Leave a Reply

