Music Recommendation: Gotye

Thanks to a tweet by Dianna Agron yesterday, I checked out a couple of songs by Gotye and much to my surprise I fell in love with his music. I always tell people I don’t have a particular genre of music I love more than others, but rather certain bands I prefer, such as Muse, Florence and the Machine etc. Despite, or perhaps because, my love for a range of genres, I am bad at finding new music, and therefore end up begrudgingly listening mostly to radio hits (admittedly, some of them are good). I was really happy to find Gotye, which is music I’m sure I would not have come across had it not been for that tweet.

My favourite song so far is ‘Somebody That I Used To Know’: 

This song gave me goose bumps the moment I heard it. I like the way he is singing about being addicted to a certain kind of sadness, and the song almost makes you want to experience heartbreak in order to understand how he feels. I think he grasps the way people in our lives are often just passing acquaintances.

The video is also really cool. I like the way he is painted as the song goes on, and how the wall around both him and her during the video is there as a way to camouflage them.

For now, this is the song I’m most in love with, but as I’m writing this I am listening to the rest of the album and I still haven’t come across a song I don’t like. I highly recommend that you check out Gotye!

 

2 Comments Add yours

  1. musicblog95 says:

    Hey, this is really great. Thnx for the recommendation! Haha

    1. Camilla says:

      No problem, glad you liked it!

Leave a Reply

