Doctor Who: Series 3 and 4

Series 3 took a little while for me to get into. Like I said, I really enjoyed the relationship between the Doctor and Rose, and thought David Tennant and Billie Piper had excellent chemistry. When Martha was introduced as the new companion, I was in a lot of ways comparing her to Rose. That didn’t last very long, but I never grew to like her as much. I think one of the main reasons for this is that I don’t think she’s as great an actress, and every time she gets very emotional or is delivering a punchline I feel too much like I’m watching someone act.

That being said, this season probably had some of the best episode, most notably ‘Blink’ which has to be one of the best and most creepy episodes I’ve seen on this show, or others for that matter. I will never be able to see statues of angels in the same way, and I’m very grateful that I didn’t watch this episode right before going to Rome in April. Even if you’re not a Doctor Who fan you should watch this episode, it is in many ways a standalone, and it’s a lot of fun mixed with a lot of creepy scenes.

I thought the series ended on a high note. I liked the return of Captain Jack, and the little twist they threw in at the end to really prove why time travel is such a fun thing to watch on television. All in all though, I’m glad Martha Jones was there for just one series, and she is so far my least favourite companion.

I was a lot more pleased with the series 4 companion, Donna Noble. I thought she brought a lot of fun to the show, and it was nice to see both someone who was a little bit older and someone who was not the least bit romantically interested in the Doctor be his companion. I thought that she and the Doctor played off each other well, and that it was a great match that left me really sad when she was left behind at the end.

I also really appreciated that they brought Rose back for at least a few episodes, and although it was a sort of happy ending for Rose and the Doctor, it was really sad that he got what he desired but at the same time lost it. More than in any of the series so far, the completion of this one was fantastic. I loved that they upped the stakes so high that I was not at all sure how they would fix it and the Doctor/Doctor/Donna dynamic at the end was priceless.

I think that series 4, along with series 2, is my favourite so far, and I’m going to miss the layers David Tennant brought to the Doctor a lot. I have watched a couple of episodes of series 5 and so far I enjoy Matt Smith, but he has a lot to live up to.

 

Leave a Reply

