Glee: Blaine is a Junior?

I just read the other day that the Glee writers have decided that Blaine Anderson is a junior. I think this is incredibly stupid. It is probably a good move by Fox because Darren Criss has been a huge success, but from a writing perspective, this is just bad.

When Blaine was first introduced halfway throughout season 2, he had been described to Darren Criss as older than Kurt, intended to be a mentor for him when he needed someone to look up to. While this was never stated in the show, I always got the impression that Blaine was supposed to be older than Kurt, or at the very least, the same age. At one point I am reasonably sure the senior members of the Dalton Academy Warblers called him their junior member too, but I’ll let that slide because that does not necessarily mean he was a junior in high school.

So, when they suddenly announced that he is a junior now, after Darren Criss has at least once mentioned that he thought Blaine was older, I was disappointed but not very surprised.

Don’t get me wrong, I think Darren Criss is very talented and don’t mind him being on Glee at all. I do, however, mind that the writers just do what they want at any given time in an obvious attempt to simply make more money. By saying that Blaine is a junior they go against what they tried to make him in previous episodes, and more importantly continue their ongoing lack of care with continuity. I enjoyed season 2, but even I can admit that it lacked a lot of continuity in both story and character, and I was under the impression that this was supposed to change when they got new writers in season 3. This seems like it goes against those promises, and I don’t know how to feel about it.

Also, I think I’m in the minority saying this, but I was never that big a fan of Blaine. Don’t get me wrong, I enjoy his character a lot, and I think Darren Criss is a fantastic performer, but the way they featured him in every Warbler moment and fit him into episodes where there were no natural place for him bothered me. It was unfair to the other characters in the show, and he even got more musical numbers than Kurt, whose friend/boyfriend he was written as. I know that this is not in any way Darren Criss’ fault, my problem is entirely with the writers. I hope that they will let this be the last example of bad continuity, and that they write it so his junior status makes sense, but at this point in time I don’t see how they can make that plausible without backtracking on what they have told us both on and off-screen for the past year.

Leave a Reply

