Vampire Diaries: Hybrid

I think I liked ‘Hybrid’ better than last week’s episode. I haven’t been able to figure out why exactly, or it might just be that I just haven’t had the time to think about it much today because of other obligations, but I have concluded that I liked this one more. Before I get into it, this is more or less what happened in the episode: Klaus was busy trying to create an army of werepires (?), or hybrids, with the help of Stefan. Elena forced Alaric to help her look for Stefan after having traced his call to Tennessee, and ended up having a reluctant Damon along for the ride. Tyler, in the process of looking for Caroline, finds out that his mother might have had something to do with her disappearance and shows her what he is in an attempt to change her mind about the supernatural population. Last but not least, Jeremy and Matt’s friendship develops as they try to find a way to make contact with Vicky and find out why she needs help.


Highs:

I like the way they are developing the story of the hybrids, and I’m very curious to see what happens as the season continues. I was surprised to at one point in the episode find myself feeling sorry for Klaus, but it passed quickly. I am not sure what to think about him, but I’m starting to think he knows more about the Elena situation than he lets on to Stefan.

The Damon and Elena ‘relationship’ has been done well so far I think. It’s not pushed away to not be mentioned for the first half of the season, and at the same time it’s not the main plot point in the episode either. I’ve always enjoyed them together, and I appreciate that they are handling it in a way that does all three parts of the love triangle justice. I liked that they finally introduced in this episode realization and acknowledgment by Elena that she actually does have some feelings for Damon.

Like I said last week, Tyler and Caroline are probably my new favourite characters, and I thought there were too little of the latter in this episode. That being said, Tyler’s parts made up for it. I like that they are giving him a lot to work with, and it was nice to see someone put two and two together a little faster than what is the norm on television. I was not shocked when it was revealed that it was Caroline’s father who was talking to Tyler’s mother, but I’m wondering what his plans for Caroline are.

To top off the highlights I will say that I appreciate the confrontations between the brothers. So much is said without words, and I love that it’s not black and white when it comes to which side each of them are on at any point in time. It was nice to see Stefan struggling to keep them away and out of harm’s way, while Damon felt conflicted because of both his feelings for Elena and Stefan’s betrayal in the last episode. It is nice to see them have some interaction that isn’t solely a result of something Elena said or did.

Lows:

The Jeremy/Matt storyline. It’s not that it’s boring, but I still don’t get where they are going with it. I was intrigued by the ending and what seems like a brewing conflict between Vicky and Anna. However, I had a problem paying close attention to the mystical aspects of their scenes, because they are really creating a weird relationship between the two guys. I’ve read several reviews saying that it almost looks like they are going for a gay storyline with Jeremy and Matt, and watching it today it didn’t feel that farfetched. I think that could be a fun thing to see, but I don’t think it will actually happen.

Before I add a full stop and end this longwinded review I have to say that I have not missed Bonnie in these episodes. I was never a big fan of her, and I actually like not having too much of her in the episodes. I am sure she will be back though, so I just hope they find a way to make me invested in her character.

 

Leave a Reply

