Breaking Bad

I recently started watching Breaking Bad and I am now working my way through season 3. I had heard and read great things about the show and decided to watch an episode to see what people were talking about. I think it took one episode to get me interested and 2 to get me invested in the show.

The show follows a 50 year old chemistry teacher, Walter White (Bryan Cranston), who, after finding out he has inoperable lung cancer, teams up with a former student, Jesse Pinkman (Aaron Paul), to cook and sell methamphetamine. The writing is great, and I have on more than one occasion almost forgotten that I’m watching a scripted show. I like that I as a viewer am torn when trying to figure out if what the protagonist is doing can be construed as wrong or right in the context of his situation, and I’m fascinated that I find the characters really likeable despite the choices they make.

Another thing that I really appreciate about this show is how it is written in context of being a cable show. I love shows like Dexter and True Blood, but it sometimes frustrates me that it seems as if they try to put in as much controversial language and content as they can just because they can. I don’t have a problem with any of it in theory, it just annoys me when it’s used too much only for shock value. Breaking Bad makes use of it too, but it’s used in situations when you would expect it to occur in real life, not just to be provocative.

So, if you want to watch a show that really excels in all fields of television production I highly recommend you set aside an hour of your life to watch the pilot of Breaking Bad.

Leave a Reply

