A Decade of Harry Potter

I have been in love with the story of Harry Potter for a little over a decade now. It’s been great, and although I miss getting a new novel and reading it all in two days, I am very satisfied with the ending JK Rowling delivered in Deathly Hallows. There are few things I didn’t love about this series, the exception being the epilogue. I know I’m not the only one to say it, but I feel that it would have made so much more sense to end the series with Harry Potter declaring he has had enough trouble for a lifetime, and I didn’t need to know that everyone lived happily ever after.

That being said, I loved reading it the first time, and only came to this conclusion after rereading the book. Because JK Rowling has told the people interested enough to look it up all that happens to her characters after the ending of the series in various interviews after the book’s release, it would have been fine to end it all with the trio standing in Dumbledore’s office. Hermione and Ron had finally had their moment, it seemed inevitable that Harry and Ginny would be together, and for the rest of them I didn’t doubt for a second that they would end up with the happy ending they deserved.

Now that the movies are coming to an end this summer too, the Harry Potter years will in a way be over for me. While I enjoy the movies, my heart belongs to the novels and so I have in a way already said my goodbyes. The movies were in some minor ways disappointing, but all in all it has been fun to see the characters from my childhood come to life on screen. Seeing the last instalment of the series come summer will be a mixed experience, and all I hope is that they do it justice. I am glad they split it into two parts. That way it will make the adventures of Harry Potter last for just a little longer.

I am truly grateful for the Harry Potter universe, and would give anything to be able to someday express my love for her story and characters to Rowling herself. Her writing was instrumental to my interest in reading as a child, writing as a young adult, and introduced me to the world of imagination. It’s been a great decade!

 

Leave a Reply

